Black Eyed Peas – The E.N.D – review, streaming and cheap album deal

12 06 2009

singlethongsinglethongsinglethongsinglethong

If you know me, you know I’m not really one for pop or hip hop music, but for whatever reason, I thought I’d give the new Black Eyed Peas release The E.N.D. a try…and it definitely wasn’t for my love of Boom Boom Pow, because honestly, I was not super-impressed with it.  It’s a fun party song, but it didn’t really stand out from the rest.

However, once I listened, I was pleasantly surprised. I’ve like Black Eyed Peas since back in the days pre-Fergie, and their sound has definitely evolved and become more pop, but you can’t deny that they did what they had to do to get noticed.  Although you could say they’ve completely sold out, for a fun pop/hip hop/dance album, The E.N.D. is everything it needs to be.  They’ve definitely incorporated a lot more electronic/techno sounds compared to the hip hop infused Elephunk, but it’s actually pretty interesting to see their evolution and versatility. They do a great job of switching up the style so it never gets redundant, and I’m sure you can attribute that to the creative producing done by will.i.am.

Click on the album for a free full album streaming!

Click on the album for a free full album streaming!

Songs like “Imma Be” and “Boom Boom Pow” are not really my thing, but the sampling in “Rock That Body” and “Party all the Time” (among others) is pretty spectacular.  I really like the originality in “Now Generation” and “Out of My Head” (I love the old school funk feel of this one).  Honestly, I could do without the white-girl-Fergie-raps most of the time, but when Fergie belts it out on songs like “Missing You” and “Meet Me Halfway” it makes you realize what she really brings to the table. For the old school fans, check out “One Tribe”…it’s a nice blend of the old and new style and is a little more meaningful than the club hits.

Yes, I gave it 4 thongs.  So call me a sellout and make fun of me all you want, but I think this album is a great summer CD to throw in the car when you’re gettin’ ready to head out for the night.  The windows are down, your hair is did, and you’re gettin’ pumped and enjoying the lighter side of life.  It’s also great to get you through the last few hours of work on a Friday 🙂

And really,  you can’t beat $3.99 for an MP3 album through Lala.com.   You can stream it for free and buy it for only $3.99 from Lala for a limited time.

…keep rockin’…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

