2009 – First New Music Recommendations of the Year

16 01 2009

Simon Wilcox – The Charm and the Strange

Simon Wilcox - The Charm and the StrangeDon’t let the name fool you, this is one badass chick…This one’s thanks to Pandora…”Awful Badly” came up on my station and immediately I was struck. She lures you in with her soft seductive voice and there’s no turning back from there.  I was expecting that this was probably the one song on the album that would rock me, and the rest would probably be a bore, as many female songwriter’s albums are.  To my surprise, the rest of the album is just as good and not for a second was I bored…on the contrary, I was quite intrigued, and totally addicted.  Throughout the album, instead of getting sappy, she gets super sassy.  If this was 2007, this would be one of my top 10 for sure.

Check out the album here

The Charms – Pussycat

The Charms - PussycatSpeaking of chicks that rock…If you love female vocalists, but prefer them to rock out and sound a little more raunchy, The Charms are sure to satisfy your craving.  This is not pansy chick rock, but it is a hell of a good time.  If you like bands like Morningwood, you’ll like The Charms.   I really like all the tracks on this album, but “Losing My Addiction” is a standout for sure.  This is not something to throw on as background music…it’s best when served loud where there’s ample room for dancing around the room in your underwear with an air guitar (think Heidi Klum’s guitar hero commercial)..I mean, if you do that kind of thing (and who doesn’t?)

Check out the album here

Matt Costa – Unfamiliar Faces

Matt Costa - Unfamiliar FacesJack Johnson finds another golden jewel…Matt Costa’s been around for awhile now, but I just recently rediscovered his 2007 album.  I liked him before, but since his last album, I think he’s become less folky and took a few more chances making “Unfamiliar Faces” much more fun.  The lead track “Mr. Pitiful” is just one of those catchy singer/songwriter songs perfect for driving to work in the morning.  It has a catchy uptempo beat that just makes you want to smile.  Some of the songs are a little slow for my liking, but the ones that are good, are really good, like “Trying to Lose my Mind”.  This is a pretty laid back album that would be great for chillin’ out on the beach…or maybe even making out.  And who doesn’t need a good makeout CD?

Check out the album here

Koufax – Strugglers

Koufax - StrugglersLike you couldn’t see this coming…Appearing on my top 10 list out of the blue, I have to make sure every indie hipster I know listens to this.  The first verse of the first song “Any Moment Now” hits you with a sax and never lets go.  Their sound is somewhere between Cold War Kids and Spoon, with a splash of Margot.  If you’re tired of all of the bore-you-to-death digital crap that’s being passed off as “Indie” right now, check out Koufax for a breath of fresh air.  This CD is awesome from beginning to end.  If they don’t hit the scene hard and soon, I’m going to start doubting the musical tastes of everyone in life.  Yes, I think it’s that good.  Oh, and stay posted…interview with them coming soon to Rockangelmusic.com…because yes, I am that good.

Check out the album here

Company of Thieves – Ordinary Riches

company of ThievesAnother intoxicating female voice…What do you get when you take a voice like Feist/Tristan Prettyman, add a little rock, a little blues, and a little jazz?  You get a delectable little treat known as Company of Thieves.  “Past the Sleep” and “Around the Block” are two of my faves on here, but this album goes down smooth like a nice glass of Scotch…or for those of us who find Scotch disgusting, it’s like a well aged glass of Syrah.  Yeah, I’m getting a little soft on this one, but everyone needs to be serenaded once in awhile, ya know?  If you like Tristan Prettyman’s latest, you’ll like this for sure (and if you don’t, she doesn’t like you either).  Perfect relaxation music after a long stressful day.

Check out the album here

And that’ll do it!  Happy listening, and…keep rockin’…



Actions

Information

3 responses

18 01 2009
Alan

LOVED the Simon Wilcox album. Bought the whole thing! The Charms I found to be somewhat generic, however I think they would be fun to see live at some point. Very 80’s pop punk (something like old Joan Jett or something). Matt Cosa I am familiar with and Company Of Thieves never really excited me. But I will have to give a closer listen to Koufax. I like what I hear but want to check them out a little more. Great choices for the new year Angel!

29 01 2009
calirockangel

Thanks Alan. Simon Wilcox really blew my mind. The Charms aren’t anything super original, but they fill the void that Morningwood has left since they’ve only put out a few songs since their last major release.

23 05 2009
lowglosy

hmm… strange..

Leave a Reply

