Best Albums of 2008…RockAngel Style

12 01 2009

Yes…we are 12 days into 2009, but I wanted to give the music of 2008 all the credit it deserved…meaning I had a top 9 list forever and couldn’t find any CD deserving of being in my top albums of the year…until now.   I know there’s no such thing as “the best album”…music is subjective…but I judge based on two things.

1-How much I want to listen to them.
2-  The level of skill, talent and creativity…but note this-creativity that you don’t want to listen to is wasted in my mind.

So here they are…my favorite albums of 2008…(if you click the albums, you can listen to them for free)

10: Girl Talk Feed the Animals
This is probably the most random appearance on my list, but I can’t get enough of this CD.  I’ve never heard mashups that are so original and flow so well.  While I’m not a huge fan of vulgar rap, the way it’s used here actually makes it bearable to listen to. If you’re looking for something to get the party started…or keep the party going…check out this CD…before this guy gets sued for stealing everyone’s music…and doing it so well.

9.  Counting Crows Saturday Nights & Sunday Mornings
I know I’ll lose any indie or rock cred I have for this pick, but this was a great CD…well written, well executed, and it makes you want to party and cry all at the same time..which I wouldn’t suggest doing, because you don’t want to be that girl (or guy).  The point is, there’s a lot of emotion in this album and you can tell they took their time to make it right.

8.  Eric Hutchinson Sounds Like This
This was a pleasant unexpected surprise this year.  This guy’s opening for O.A.R., and his single “Rock & Roll” is hittin’ the airwaves everywhere, but who knew this guy could write such a rockin’ blues inspired record?

7.  The Raconteurs Consolers of the Lonely
My old roommate burned me a copy of their last album and I couldn’t even listen to it all, because I just didn’t care for it that much.  Imagine my surprise when I couldn’t take the new CD out of my car for weeks.  Jack White and the rest of the band really nailed it on this one.

6.  Koufax Strugglers
I know what you’re thinking…”who??But every top 10 list needs the random indie band that no one’s heard of (some have more than others).  I’ve combed multiple top ten lists and listened to tons of random indie crap that people thought was the best of the year, and I still couldn’t fill in the missing place of my top 10.  iTunes Genius sidebar actually turned out to be pretty awesome on this one…Koufax came out of nowhere and just blew me away. I knew I’d love this CD after the first 3 notes of the first song.  I’d describe Koufax as being somewhere between Spoon and Cold War Kids with a splash of Margot & TNS&S thrown in for good measure…give it a try, it’s some delicious indie goodness for your ears.

5.  TV on the Radio Dear Science
If Rolling Stone got one thing right this year, it was putting this album at the top of their list.  While it wasn’t my top favorite, there’s no denying the creativity on this album is pretty f’ing awesome.

4.  Michael Franti & Spearhead All Rebel Rockers
I saw these guys at Street Scene and was an immediate fan.  When I saw they had a new album on someone else’s top ten, I got as giddy as a 10 year old girl.  Once I heard this, I knew it was something that my ears have been missing for awhile.  If you’re a fan of Ben Harper, and you haven’t heard this guy, you’re gonna love him.  This music is fun, and still full of great messages and a lot of heart.

3.  People in Planes Beyond the Horizon
If you want to rock, but found this year a little disappointing, People in Planes are sure to fill in that gap.  Every time I hear this I want to jump around my car like some chick from an 80’s Motley Crue video…which is almost as entertaining as this CD.

2.  Santogold Santogold
This CD was amazing and anyone who’s been in my car in the last year has heard it, over and over.  Perfect CD for the summer especially, and something truly unique, but still catchy as hell.  If you haven’t heard this…wtf are you waiting for?

1.  Kings of Leon Only by the Night
It should be illegal to listen to this CD as much as I have.  You’d think I’d get sick of it, but every time I hear it, I just love it more.  Kings of Leon really got it this time.  There aren’t words to describe how amazing every song is on this album is…it truly is a musical orgasm…and the best one of the year…

Actions

Information

5 responses

13 01 2009
Alan

Excellent choices! I will be checking out the Koufax disk tonight! And I really didn’t give the People In Planes disk much of a chance. Guess I’ll have to go check it out again! And I also don’t know anything about Eric Hutchinson…so I’ll be checking that one out as well. But, as we both know, nothing tops Kings Of Leon this past year. It will always be one of my favorites forever! Great music and writing…LOVE IT!

14 01 2009
Kim Fidler

I approve of this list. Especially Kings of Leon at the top. Such a great album.

15 01 2009
Isaac

I totally agree with you about Consoler Of The Lonely – I never really got The White Stripes, despite everyone I know drooling over them, and the first Rcaonteurs was hot and cold, but this one blew me away.

28 01 2009
LaurenAudrey

Great List, Really happy to see people in planes on the list. The CD always makes me laugh and the merch does the same. I adore the tank tops that they have on http://www.killthe8.com

29 01 2009
calirockangel

Glad you liked it! Thanks for checking out the site!

Leave a Reply

