Free Streaming Preview of Guns N’ Roses long awaited “Chinese Democracy”

20 11 2008
Chinese Democracy - Guns N' Roses

After 17 years, “Chinese Democracy”-Guns N’ Roses latest project-is finally being released.  The question is, will this album go down in legendary music history like “Appetite for Destruction” or will it be the next Y2K bug and live on as the biggest musical hype of its time?  Luckily for you, Myspace is letting you do decide that for yourself…before the album is officially released on November 23rd.

Right now, you can go to myspace.com/gunsnroses and listen to the entire album for free…as many times as your little music-junkie heart desires.  There’s nothing to jump-start your day like a little dose of Axl Rose.
So far I’ve made it about halfway through the album, and already I can tell I’m gonna need to listen to it a few more times before I can really absorb the flavor of it.  Their sound has definitely become more modern, but you can still hear remnants of the GNR style…and there’s no denying Axl Rose’s distinctive vocals.  In my eyes, the recipe for an epic album needs to not only be perfectly written and composed, but it needs to contain one part old school roots, one part modern charm and one part pure originality, topped with a generous helping of emotional guts.  Does Chinese Democracy live up to this epic status?  Well, by song 8 on the first listen, I can’t judge it quite yet…but it just might…so why don’t you mosey on over to myspace.com/gunsnroses and hear for yourself.  I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Happy New Music Thursday…keep rockin…

(If you want to read more about the album, I found this article by MTV pretty interesting)

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 11 2008
Alan

I didn’t “hate” the title track…but it wasn’t the best thing I’ve ever heard. But I plan on buying the disc next week. GNR was HUGE when I was in college, and I’ve been waiting a long time! I reviewed the single on my site…if you care to check it out…

http://alntv.wordpress.com/2008/11/11/what-the-heckchinese-democracy/

Can’t wait to read your review on the whole album once you’ve let it stew in your brain for a while! 🙂

29 11 2008
Alan

So I bought it and you can read my review here. Not the greatest thing out this year…or this week for that matter…

http://alntv.wordpress.com/2008/11/29/this-aint-slashs-guns-n-roses/

Leave a Reply

