Kings of Leon “Only By The Night” – Free Album Listen

11 11 2008

Occasionally a song just hits you immediately…and for whatever reason it feels like that song has already become a permanent fixture in the soundtrack to your life.  This song for me was “Sex On Fire” by Kings Of Leon.  I’ve been a fan of these guys since the days of “Molly’s Chambers”, and have gone back and forth from how I really feel about their albums as a whole.  However, I realized today I hadn’t even heard their newest album with my new favorite song, and it came out in September!  I must have missed that New Music Tuesday!  I was extremely disappointed with myself. But disappointment turned to joy as I streamed the album for free on Lala, and fell in love with it immediately.  This album is original, with lots of mainstream undertones.  Their progressions move your soul through the song, and just when you think it might start sounding pop, they throw in a curveball.  It’s taking awhile for the ‘States to catch on to this international hit, but I highly doubt that anyone will wonder who they are after this year, and this incredibly amazing album.

For whatever reason, I’ve noticed most albums start off strong, and then fade out slowly until they fizzle at the end.  So being the skeptic I am, I kept waiting for a song to suck, but then I got to the end of the album…and still no sucking.  Guess I can’t complain about that one!  If you are a fan of the single on the radio, you will be a fan of the rest of the album.  Caleb’s voice is much smoother on this one and they have almost a U2 kind of feel.  Though they consider themselves to be Southern Rock, I feel this is a much more universal sound.

This one deserves to be bought, but if you’d like to listen to it once for free to make sure, you can stream the whole album below:

Kings of Leon “Only By The Night” – Free CD Preview.

[clearspring_widget title=”Lala Album Widget” wid=”48f4e92325517fd9″ pid=”491a250db819f53e” width=”300″ height=”254″ domain=”widgets.clearspring.com”]

Actions

Information

One response

13 11 2008
Alan

with a little over a month remaining in 2008, I’m pretty sure this is gonna be my favorite album this year. So many strong songs with “17” being the weakest track, this album is really great from start to finish! I’m glad I’m not the only one to think so!

Leave a Reply

