Music Must-Haves

3 11 2008

There are certain artists that every music collection should contain, and we all know the big ones…Zeppelin, Beatles, Marley, and probably Radiohead (for most people), just to name a few, but what about those hidden gems that sometimes fly beneath the radar? Here are three of my many all time favorites.  I’d love for you to leave a comment and let me know yours. (Album names link to lala where you can listen to them once for free)

Bedouin Soundclash “Sounding a Mosaic

bedouin_soundclash-sounding_a_mosaicThis album is not only musically creative, but it sounds amazing and the title of the album sums it up perfectly.  Bedouin is from Canada, but they definitely have a reggae influence.  Don’t think this is just another wanna be reggae band though…just when you think you have their sound pinned down, they throw it in the blender and come up with an entirely different treat for you.  I can and do listen to this CD over and over.  Plus, for all the ladies…the singer’s voice is almost as sexy as he is.  They have a newer CD, but it doesn’t compare to this one.

Margot & the Nuclear So & So’s “The Dust of RetreatMargot and the Nuclear so and so's Dust of Retreat

So it’s no secret that I am in love with this band.  So much in love, I would marry this CD, if that kind of thing was legal.  I don’t think I’ve ever gotten this much emotional satisfaction from anyone or anything.  Their new CD is great as well, but something about “The Dust of Retreat” just grabs you and won’t let go, but trust me, you wouldn’t want it to.

Santogold “Santogold

santogold-santogold coverIf you haven’t heard a Santogold song, you’ve been living under a rock, or maybe you just haven’t realized what you were hearing…I’ve counted at least 3 different brands that use her in commercials, and I think she’s even been licensed to a few TV shows.  This is the best album of 2008…yeah I said it.  The year’s not over yet, but mark my words-the indie critics will be all over this one.  Originally I thought she sounded like M.I.A, but if there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s that Santogold won’t be pigeonholed.  Just when you think you know how she sounds, she throws you for a curveball.  This CD is fun, spunky, and a just a splendid listening treasure.  Oh, and did I mention she rocked it live at House of Blues in SD?  The whole show was a big party…just like this album.

Here are some other albums that I absolutely love (they all link to lala, where you can listen to them once for free).  This is not exclusive, just some splendid little listening treasures to fit whatever mood you’re in.

Head Automatica “Decadence” (so much better than whatever else they did after this)

Maroon 5 “Songs About Jane” (call me a sellout…there’s no denying this album is good though)

Raconteurs “Consolers of the Lonely” (this is my current addiction)

Rilo Kiley “More Adventurous” & “Under the Blacklight” (my indie girl crush)

Chiodos “Bone Pallace Ballet”  (not for the faint of heart)

My Chemical Romance “The Black Parade” (played out, but for a reason)

Jack Johnson “In Between Dreams” (I think he peaked here)

Muse “Black Holes & Revelations” (CD almost as good as their live show)

The Kooks “Inside In/Inside Out” (Such a fun and spunky British treat)

The Killers “Hot Fuss” (no brainer, good luck to the Killers on ever topping this one)

Unwritten Law “Heres to the Mourning” (My favorite San Diego band…good rock all the way through)

So…what are some of your faves??

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 11 2008
InfiniteAtmosphere

Thanks for posting this list. I actually ended up buying the Dust of Retreat the other day. It really is good stuff. I’ll try giving Sounding a Mosaic a second chance. Something about it turned me off the first time I listened to it but I’ll try listening to it on a decent sound system.

Here’s my list…
Dresden Dolls – Self Titled:
A Brechtian Punk Cabaret duo. Dark, edgy, and karaoke-able. I don’t really know how else to describe them past that. Their second album Yes Virginia is just as entertaining.

DJ Shadow – Endtroducing…:
Probably the greatest instrumental album ever made. Every song is created purely from samples of songs that other people threw away. It made me listen to music differently.

Les Savy Fav – Let’s Stay Friends:
Artsy but still very solid from the beginning to the last of it.

Currently listening to Galactic – From the corner to the block:
Jazz with hip hop collaborations from Quannam Artists, J5, the coup, and more. It will make you drive at least 10 mph faster than normal.

Making that list was harder then I thought it would be. Thanks again!

17 01 2009
RockAngel

I must amend this. Kings of Leon’s Only by the Night is one of my favorite albums of all time, hands down….just gets better every time I hear it.

Leave a Reply

